Tickbox for luthiers
List of altoguitar recordings
Personal message system
Working memberlist
Connections
New forum
New Gallery
New download section

Be sure to read the message SITE UPDATED in the forums.

Main Menu
Home
Forum
Downloads
Gallery
Recordings
Links
Contact Us
Login
We have 18 guests online
No Users Online
Support altoguitar.com
Forum
General questions about the alto and its use (1 viewing) (1) Guest
Go to bottom Post Reply Favoured: 0
TOPIC: General questions about the alto and its use
John Snow (User)
Fresh Boarder
graphgraph
User Offline Click here to see the profile of this user
General questions about the alto and its use 5 Years ago Karma: 0  
Dear multi-string guitar community,

I've been entertaining the idea of purchasing a multi string guitar for some time now. As a classical guitar student, I think it would be a great opportunity to perform especially baroque music without having to raise the basses an octave every now and then, etc.
I rather wanted to get an alto, because of the tuning being more similar to the baroque lute, because I think that the guitar, as a quite low solo instrument, could be extended upwards as well as downwards when adding more strings (as opposed to the 10-string, where there are only more basses and the treble range stays the same) and because Göran Söllscher plays one, which makes his baroque recordings my favourite.
Now here's my question: When (one of) the purpose(s) of the alto guitar is to make the guitar more similar to a lute and therefore facilitate the "authentic" performance of repertoire of the baroque area, why are there still so many transpositions made?
E.g.
Weiss - Passacaille in D major transposed to C (performed in D on a regular guitar)
Weiss - Tombeau s. l. m. d. Mr. Compte de Logy in B-flat minor transposed to c
Bach - Suite 996 in E-minor transposed to g (performed in e on a regular guitar, in f# or d# (!) on a lute)